Nothing!

My Upstairs Studio Blog

The Butler Window The Butler Window

It’s been a busy week with some unexpected twists that have kept me from my studio more than I would like, so I got nothing!  I’m currently working in two paintings, but neither are yet complete.

My painting of the Butler Window, which is 36×30, is taking much longer than anticipated.  Painting bigger doesn’t just require more paint; it requires more thought and effort.  Small errors in perspective can be obsurded in a smaller painting, but stand out in a large one.  Skies become expansive, shadows require much more attention, small things aren’t so small any more, and sometimes there’s a block (mental not physical).

So I started a second painting to allow me to move the Butler Window to my sub-conscience for further analysis.

Edinburgh Street Edinburgh Street

My mind always seems to return to Scotland.  For some reason, the streets of Glasgow and Edinburgh and Oban and…

View original post 68 more words

2 Comments

  1. Thanks for reposting!

Leave a Reply

